Welcome to T.A.R.A.
 

 sponsor me

Pages of Interest
Bookmark and Share

 
Last Updated:
10/22/2020 10:09 AM

 

 
Callie Sue's Web Page

Boxer / Black Mouth Cur / Mixed (short coat)  : :  Female (spayed)  : :  Adult  : :  Medium


More Pics...

Won't you think about adopting me?

Sponsor This Pet

Bookmark and Share

Learn more about the Boxer.

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

Print an adoption flyer for Callie Sue!

Contact Callie Sue's Caretaker/Foster Directly: Tracey (traceysl@tarasdream.org)

About Callie Sue

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Brown/Chocolate

Email T.A.R.A. | T.A.R.A.'s Web Site | On-Line Application 
 

Hello! My name is Callie Sue, and I'm looking for my forever home!  I thought I'd give you an update on myself since I've been with my foster family for a bit, and have learned so much. I may not have had the best start to my short life, but I'm learning people and other dogs are nice to have in my life. After living with a family, in a house, and with other dogs, I'm learning to trust. I am still easily startled with loud sounds or quick movements, but I recover much faster and instead of continuing to run and hide, I will now come back and investigate. I am now fully housetrained, and have gone several weeks without an accident! I'm a pretty smart girl. My foster family has 2 other dogs that I live with, and let me tell you- they have taught me so much about what being a dog is all about! I now play with them, and with toys, and act silly and even get the zoomies! I still like to eat in a quieter place, away from any possible interruptions, but it's okay my foster family doesn't mind that I prefer to eat in the living room while everyone else is in the kitchen. I am still a little cautious of new people, but if you just go slow, and give me a minute to figure it out, I promise I will give you all the love. My foster family has been so great in giving me time to get comfortable with everyone.  I still tend to trust females faster than males, but if I do come around if you just keep showing me it's okay.  My foster mom says the best forever home for me would be a family with older children for now. Because I still startle so easily, it's probably still best that my forever family not have quick moving young children. I won't hurt them, I'll just always be running away from them.  It would also be best for my home to have another dog that I can look to for guidance. I do like running and playing with other dogs and I really look to them to show me how to be a dog. I am still working on my basic commands, my foster family had to start at the beginning- just realizing that I could take a treat from their hand. I'm getting it, we're just making baby steps.  My foster family has noticed that with my increased confidence that I have quite a prey drive. This means I LOVE chasing the bunnies and squirrels, I will hunt for them even when they get out of the yard. This may mean, I may not be the best dog to live with a kitty friend, but I haven't met one yet, so I don't know for sure. I am also rather athletic and have some serious hops. I tend to jump fences (especially those short ones) when I get nervous. The more comfortable I've become in my own yard, the less I've made an attempt to jump. Finally, once I've learned to trust my humans, I get a little worried when they aren't around. I would love a family that would be around most of the time. If I do need to stay at home without you- it helps if you can leave me with something to keep my mind off of things. My favorite treat is a kong stuffed full of yummy things that my foster mom freezes. Man I can that will keep me busy for a good long while. If you think you're family would love to give a shy, sweet girl like myself a forever home- please reach out to these amazing people at T.A.R.A and ask more about me, Callie Sue! I'm learning so much everyday and I've come so far in such a short time. I may be the perfect fit for your family and you'll never know if you don't ask about me.

Approximate Birthdate:  April 2018

Adoption Fee: $150.00

TARA's adoption fee includes: spay/neuter, age appropriate vaccinations, microchip, heartworm test (if age appropriate), heartworm and flea prevention, and deworming.  TARA's pets are all eligible for a  two week trial  .

Due to the fact that many of our dogs come from the local city shelters, we do not know the background of many of them and therefore cannot always guarantee age or breed.  Size is subjective but we use the following guidelines: Small 1-20 pounds, Med 20-50 pounds, Large 50-80 pounds, Extra Large over 80 pounds.

   
For more information please fill out an APPLICATION

Please visit our   EVENTS PAGE   for information about our upcoming adoption events.

More about Callie Sue

Good with Dogs

Other Pictures of Callie Sue (click to see larger version):

Callie Sue Callie Sue




 
Search

Follow Us!
facebook logo Twitter Instagram logo


Support T.A.R.A. when you search the Web or shop online with Goodsearch.

 Goodsearch: You Search...We Give!


lost pets


 

 sheltercare  


snkc



NAWS


 

T.A.R.A. is Licensed in  Missouri  

mo


funds



Support Us
 72ms